RallyDay Saturday 23rd September

The International Rally Drivers Club will be at Castle Combe Circuit as part of the the 2017 Rallyday paddock with the familiar IRDC club gazebo erected near the Driver's Club entrance.

Action starts at 9:00 am with star drivers and rally personalities commemorating the 10th anniversary of the 1995's World Rally Champion Colin McRaes passing. Joining Colin's former co-driver Nicky Grist will be Stig Blomqvist, Harri Toivonen, Jari-Matti Latvala, Ott Tanak, Elfyn Evans, Malcolm Wilson and Andreas Bakkerud.

21st September, 2017

Keith Cronin Crowned 2017 Champion

The championship finale was on the well-rallied tarmac of the Isle of Man 14-16th September and three crews came to the Island with a mathematical chance of claiming the prestigious crown. Fredrik Ahlin (Skoda Fabia R5), Keith Cronin (Ford Fiesta R5) and Matt Edwards (Ford Fiesta R5) would fight for supremacy on the infamous island roads.

After three gruelling days of rally action it was Irishman Keith Cronin and co-driver Mikie Galvin who were crowned Prestone MSA British Rally Champions in their DMACK-shod Ford Fiesta R5, clinching the championship for M-Sport after taking both round 7 and round 8 victories on the island classic. Cronin won four rounds in 2017 on his way to the title and has now clinched Britains premier rallying series for a remarkable fourth time, incredibly in four different cars.

Fredrik Ahlin and Torstein Eriksen arrived at the championship showdown as the crew to beat, needing a third and a second to claim the title. The Skoda Fabia R5 crew had a difficult first round nursing gearbox and differential gremlins but claimed a third place behind Edwards to keep their title fight alive. Cronin had to do the double on Rally Isle of Man to stand any chance of the title and the Irishman delivered. Edwards, who had the same Evo2 upgrade as his Fiesta rival for the first time this season fought a ding-dong battle at the front throughout the second leg. Cronin led by 9.1 seconds going into the final stage, but Edwards gave it everything to haul in Cronin but the Welshman lost his first BRC win by an agonising 0.1 seconds.

Ahlin needed a second place to secure the title but a spin on cold tyres on the penultimate night stage on Friday evening put paid to his title chances and no matter how quick he drove. The Swedish star was always playing catch-up and couldnt close the gap to the front two losing out on becoming champion by one championship point.

2017 British Rally Championship Final Top Ten Positions

1. Keith Cronin 129
2. Fredrik Ahlin 128
3. Matt Edwards 94
4. Rhys Yates 70
5. Osian Pryce 66
6. Martin McCormack 57
7. Jamie Anderson 39
8. David Bogie 37
9. Alex Laffey 30
10. Desi Henry 24

20th September, 2017

2017 British Rally Championship Finale

The 2017 Prestone MSA British Rally Championship title fight goes down to wire at the finale on the Rally Isle of Man this weekend, 14-16 September. After six rounds across England, Northern Ireland, Scotland and Wales together with an overseas event in Belgium, Britains premier rally championship will be decided on the ultra fast roads of the Isle of Man with three days on this most famous of motor sport tarmac. With two sets of championship points on offer for the double header, a battle royale is set to rage across the picturesque island.

Swedens Fredrik Ahlin, Irishman Keith Cronin and Welshman Matt Edwards all have a mathematical chance of lifting the coveted overall Championship crown while William Creighton, Callum Devine and Oscar Solberg will do battle for the Prestone Motorsport News Junior BRC title, with the winner scooping a substantial 30,000 cash prize, one of the biggest in British motor sport.

The Isle of Man is well-known around the world as a motorsport mecca, with its fast-flowing roads home to the TT and its narrow lanes tailor-made for rallying. These famous lanes have helped springboard the World Rally Championship careers of the likes of Colin McRae, Richard Burns, Elfyn Evans and James Bond stuntman and Manxman Mark Higgins.

To join the elite winners club, crews must first face 160 miles of the islands finest roads which are made up of countryside escapades, street fighting town centre tests and a spectacular side-by-side promenade course through the capital, Douglas. All of this adds up to an exciting weekend of motor sport action, with a large crowd expected to line the stages. Highlights from the rally will be broadcast around the world via Channel 4, BT Sport and Motorsport TV network shortly afterwards.

For more information on Rally Isle Man visit: and for all the latest BRC developments visit:

13th September, 2017

Keith Cronin wins BRC Ulster Rally

Three time BRC champion Keith Cronin and co driver Mikie Galvin claimed victory on round six of the Prestone MSA British Rally Championship the John Mulholland Ulster Rally 18/19 August. The Irish pairing took their second win of the season in their M-Sport Ford Fiesta R5 to set up an exciting title fight ahead of the season curtain call on the Isle of Man.

Finishing second on the Ulster Rally was Fredrik Ahlin and co driver Torstein Eriksen in their Skoda Fabia R5, their best finish on a Tarmac event. Rounding out the BRC podium was local crew Marty McCormack and navigator David Moynihan Fabia R5 who clinched their third rostrum of the season.

The Ulster Rally provided two days of enthralling action around Derry & Londonderry after crews were waved off by the mayor of the city under the shadow of the Guildhall. Over 130 miles of slippery, bumpy and narrow Tarmac lanes faced the BRC crews, providing a spectacle as the championship fight took another step forward to its end of season showdown. Torrential rain showers added an extra ingredient into the opening days proceedings before wet, but drying stages played host to the second and final day of action.

Fredrik Ahlin and Torstein Eriksen had enjoyed a battle with Osian Pryce but once the Welshman dropped from the leaderboard, Fredrik was the only man left to challenge an on form Cronin. Setting top three stage times all weekend, Ahlin proved himself to be an all round driver after a strong display on the Irish Tarmac. Second place in Ulster makes the 2017 championship his to lose and he is ready to fight Cronin on the Isle of Man for the title.

Prestone MSA British Rally Championship Round 6 John Mulholland Ulster Rally
Top Ten Positions
1. Keith Cronin/Mikie Galvin Ford Fiesta R5
2. Fredrik Ahlin/Torstien Erikson Skoda Fabia R5 +54.7s
3. Marty McCormack/David Moynihan Skoda Fabia R5 +2:25.5s
4. Desi Henry/Liam Moynihan Skoda Fabia R5 +2:55.2s
5. Alex Laffey/Patrick Walsh Ford Fiesta R5 +8:17.9s
6. William Creighton/Liam Regan Peugeot 208 R2 +12:35.3s
7. Oscar Solberg/Patrik Barth Ford Fiesta R2T +22:25.5s
8. Josh Cornwell/Tom Woodburn Ford Fiesta R2 +24:00.3s
9. David White/Matthew White Ford Fiesta R2 +30:13.5s
10. Alex Waterman/Harry Thomas Ford Fiesta R2 +31:12.7s

Prestone MSA British Rally Championship Standings (Drivers) after round six

1. Fredrik Ahlin 106
2. Keith Cronin 74
3. Osian Pryce 66
4. Martin McCormack 57
5. Matt Edwards 54
6. Rhys Yates 46
7. Jamie Anderson 39
8. David Bogie 37
9. Desi Henry 24
10. Tom Cave 22

21st August, 2017

View News Archive